Roman city and northwest city

Ideal cities for the ideal man - 'model settlements' in comparison

A tour for Frankfurt and visitors who are interested in the complexity of historical city planning.

Affordable comfortable apartments in the countryside near the city - it sounds like egg wool woolly milk. The ambitious goal of the "New Frankfurt" in the twenties was to grow a new (better) generation of humans. In the sixties, the ideal living environment was to be created through the separation of function and traffic routes with living in the countryside. The expectations attached to the plans, the disappointments that have arisen, can be studied today - together? 511

The tour moves in the urban triangle - Nida, Römerstadt and Nordweststadt. Nida is the name of the real "Roman city", like all cities of this period, a planned city. Information boards inform about Nida today. It never seems to have been there today, as the archaeological traces were removed in favor of low-cost housing in the modern "Roman city". It was built in the twenties under the direction of the Frankfurt City Councilor Ernst May. A house was reconstructed by the Ernst-May-Gesellschaft eV as a model house and can be visited.

In the neighborhood is the planned after the ideals of the 1960s »Northwest city«, with way (pedestrians and cars) and separation of functions (living, working, leisure). In the middle is the compressed northwest center with shopping, offices, parking garage, and a central bus station at a subway station. Radial paths lead into the surrounding, in a parkland residential areas, near the northwest center mostly skyscrapers, more distant blocks of flats and terraced houses.

project selection

Roman town

  • Residential development (Ernst May)
  • Geschwister Scholl School (Martin Elsässer, extension: Behnisch & Partner)

Nordweststadt

  • Overall concept Schwagenscheidt, Sittmann and Apel, Beckert, Becker
  • Renovation JSK Architects

Römerstadt und Nordweststadt

Idealstädte für den idealen Menschen – ‚Mustersiedlungen‘ im Vergleich

Eine Tour für Frankfurter und Besucher, die sich für die Komplexität historischer Stadtplanungen interessieren.

Kostengünstige komfortable Wohnungen im Grünen in Stadtnähe – Es klingt nach eierlegenden Wollmilchsäuen. Das ehrgeizige Ziel des ‚Neuen Frankfurts‘ in den zwanziger Jahren war selbst eine neue (bessere) Menschengeneration heranwachsen zu lassen. In den sechziger Jahren sollte durch Funktions- und Verkehrswegetrennung mit Wohnen im Grünen die ideale Lebensumgebung geschaffen werden. Die an die Planungen geknüpften Erwartungen, die entstandenen Enttäuschungen lassen sich heute studieren – zusammen? 511

Die Tour bewegt sich im Siedlungsdreieck – Nida, Römerstadt und Nordweststadt. Nida ist der Name der echten »Römer-Stadt«, wie alle Städte dieser Periode, eine geplante Stadtanlage. Informationstafeln informieren heute über Nida. Nie da scheint sie heute gewesen zu sein, da die archäologischen Spuren zugunsten des kostengünstigen Wohnens in der modernen »Römerstadt« beseitigt wurden. Sie entstand in den zwanziger Jahren unter Leitung des Frankfurter Stadtbaurats Ernst May. Ein Haus wurde von der Ernst-May-Gesellschaft e.V. als Musterhaus rekonstruiert und ist zu besichtigen.

In der Nachbarschaft befindet sich die nach den Idealen der 1960er Jahre geplante »Nordweststadt«, mit Wege- (Fußgänger und Autos) und Funktionstrennung (Wohnen, Arbeiten, Freizeit). In der Mitte liegt das komprimierte Nordwestzentrum mit Einkaufsmöglichkeiten, Büros, Parkhaus, und einem zentralen Busbahnhof an einer U-Bahnhaltestelle. Strahlenförmig führen Fußwege in die umgebende, in einer Parklandschaft gelegenen Wohngebiete, in der Nähe des Nordwestzentrums zumeist Hochhäuser, weiter entfernt Wohnblocks und Reihenhäuser.

Projektauswahl

Römerstadt

  • Wohnbebauung (Ernst May)
  • Geschwister Scholl Schule (Martin Elsässer, Erweiterung: Behnisch & Partner)

Nordweststadt

  • Gesamtkonzeption Schwagenscheidt, Sittmann und Apel, Beckert, Becker
  • Renovierung JSK Architekten