Skyscraper District

A tour for Frankfurt and visitors who are looking for flights of fancy and downhill interest

The air was good on the western outskirts, where the Frankfurt merchants and bankers settled down to the 19th century. In the place of their residential and commercial buildings are now the bank skyscrapers. Recently, residential and hotel towers are still being pushed in between. The air in the office tower construction had become a little thinner.

The unique skyline has become Frankfurt's trademark. In the sixties confusedly started in the Westend, with justifiably much protest against it, the skyscraper development now (mostly) along predetermined axes of the high-rise building plan takes place.

Always a mix of housing many jobs in a small space and status symbol, sustainability has now been added as another criterion.

Between the skyscrapers of domestic and foreign financial institutions and nationally and internationally influential companies, residential and hotel skyscrapers or towers with mixed use are increasingly emerging. If urban planning was the first thing to do so, to make the city more lively, the large demand for housing will now be met and investments will be secured by combating the use of crises in individual sectors.

At the same time, since 2010, there has been an increasing variety of forms - the 'belly swing' of the Omniturm or the dynamic twisted towers of the Frankfurt Four project.

Quick compared Frankfurt with Manhattan. The New York investors Tishman & Speyer, who have been active in Frankfurt for years, prove that Frankfurt is also perceived here, and have paved the way to heaven for a number of striking skyscrapers.

The highest, the most innovative, the first, the newest, the most economical, the bank gorge, water cushion foundations and swimming pool in the penthouse, ascents, descents in finance, two Reichstag builders side by side - let it be told.

project selection

skyscrapers

  • Commerzbank (Sir Norman Forster)
  • Taunus Tower (Gruber Kleine-Kranenburg Architects)
  • Omni Tower (Bjarke Ingels Group)
  • Frankfurt Four (UN Studio)
  • Japan Tower (Ganz & Rolfes)
  • MainTower (Schweger & Partner)
  • Opera Tower (Christoph Mäckler Architekten)
  • Deutsche Bank (ABB)
  • Triton (Novotny & Mähner; HPP; AS & P)
  • Kronen Hochhaus (Kohn, Pedersen, Fox)
  • Marienturm (Müller Reimann Architects)
  • Silver Tower (ABB)

Hochhausviertel

Eine Tour für Frankfurter und Besucher, die sich für Höhenflüge und Talfahrten interessieren

Die Luft war gut am westlichen Stadtrand, wo sich die Frankfurter Kaufleute und Bankiers bis ins 19. Jahrhundert ansiedelten. An der Stelle ihrer Wohn- und Geschäftshäuser stehen nun die Bankenhochhäuser. Seit kurzem werden Wohn- und Hotelhochhäuser noch dazwischen geschoben. Die Luft im Bürohochhausbau war etwas dünner geworden.

Die einzigartige Skyline ist Frankfurts Markenzeichen geworden. In den sechziger Jahren konfus im Westend begonnen, mit zurecht viel Protest dagegen, vollzieht sich die Hochhausentwicklung nun (zumeist) entlang festgelegter Achsen des Hochhausrahmenplans.

Immer ein Mix von Unterbringung vieler Arbeitsplätze auf geringer Fläche und Statussymbol, ist nun als weiteres Kriterium die Nachhaltigkeit hinzugekommen.

Zwischen den Hochhäusern in- und ausländischer Geldinstitute und national und international einflussreicher Firmen, entstehen nun auch zunehmend Wohn- und Hotelhochhäuser oder Türme mit gemischter Nutzung. Waren es dafür erst städtebauliche Überlegungen, um die Stadt lebendiger zu gestalten, so wird jetzt die große Wohnungsnachfrage bedient und werden Investments durch die Nutzungsmischung gegen Krisen in einzelnen Sektoren abgesichert.

Zugleich ist seit 2010 eine zunehmende Gestaltvielfalt festzustellen – der ‚Bauchschwung‘ des Omniturms oder die dynamischen verdrehten Türme beim Projekt Frankfurt Four.

Schnell hat man Frankfurt mit Manhattan verglichen. Dass man dort auch Frankfurt wahrnimmt, beweisen die New Yorker Investoren Tishman & Speyer, die seit Jahren in Frankfurt tätig sind und hier einer Reihe markanter Hochhäuser den Weg in den Himmel gebahnt haben.

Das Höchste, das Innovativste, das Erste, das Neueste, das Sparsamste, die Bankenklamm, Wasserkissenfundamenten und Schwimmbad im Penthouse, Aufstiege, Talfahrten im Finanzwesen, zwei Reichstagsbaumeister nebeneinander – lassen Sie es sich erzählen.

Projektauswahl

Hochhäuser

  • Commerzbank (Sir Norman Forster)
  • Taunusturm (Gruber Kleine-Kranenburg Architekten)
  • Omniturm (Bjarke Ingels Group)
  • Frankfurt Four (UN Studio)
  • Japan Tower (Ganz & Rolfes)
  • MainTower (Schweger & Partner)
  • Opernturm (Christoph Mäckler Architekten)
  • Deutsche Bank (ABB)
  • Triton (Novotny & Mähner ; HPP ; AS & P)
  • Kronen Hochhaus (Kohn, Pedersen, Fox)
  • Marienturm (Müller Reimann Architekten)
  • Silver Tower (ABB)