Architecture tour in Darmstadt

Here and there are also Bergsträßer wine and Sprizz on the tables to see, on sunny days Darmstadt downtown seems to be a single coffee terrace. This in contrast to the sober atmosphere of the 1970s and 80s, which corresponded to the sober 50s rebuilding architecture.

The centers of modern architecture lie just beyond the coffee terrace, with one exception:

The State Theater - A model building for the architecture of the sixties, has now been upgraded architecturally, in addition to other measures, a fun underworld was created. From the forecourt, a former privet desert, became a chill place.

Mathildenhöhe Paulusviertel Heimatstil

Art Nouveau

Pattern buildings of the early 20th century were built on the Mathildenhöhe. from

Artistic Ernst-Ludwig, grand-ducal stroke of luck for Hesse-Darmstadt, initiated, the Art Nouveau settlement is now seen as the first German building exhibition.

Quite different was to build in the spaciously planned Paulusviertel. Today, the difference is somewhat relative. The architects there followed the home style and were inspired by romantic farmhouse ideas or medieval castle architecture. This area has survived the World War largely undestroyed, in contrast to the Mathildenhöhe, where some bombs fell.

However, those who mourn the ruined group of tenants can now console themselves with the well-rehabilitated Department of Design at Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences

Darmstadt masterpieces

After the war, the city wanted to resume the thread of exemplary buildings and commissioned 1951 eleven renowned architects with public construction projects. Five projects were carried out: the women's club of Otto Bartning, the Ludwig Georgs Gymnasium by Max Taut, the Georg Büchner School by Hans Schwippert, the children's world of Franz Schuster and the single dormitory by Ernst Neufert

TU downtown

At the site of the former Grand Ducal vegetable garden, the old TH buildings were built at the end of the 19th century (renamed TU in 1997). The ensemble is now complemented by the university library and institute building. Previously set in the war desert green, the event center Darmstadtium emerged as a notable urban development accent.

publisher quarter

A green commercial campus with a uniform architecture, in view of special waste architecture in today's business parks, would have liked to be able to serve as a role model for the Darmstadt publisher quarter that emerged in the fifties. Settled with printing companies that had fled from East Germany, the change in the printing industry has become noticeable there. The companies have disappeared and the state building school, once located as a gap filler, has now become the 'Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences (h_da)' or 'Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences' and has developed the area into a campus.

TU Campus Lichtwiese

The new campus of the TU is located on the outskirts, where Matthias Claudius, The moon has risen 'should have sealed. The first development took place in concrete and prefabricated parts according to the example of the University Campus Marburg. Since 2000, a number of new institute buildings have sprung up, which often incorporate the horizontal structure of existing buildings, but otherwise formally dissociate themselves. Noteworthy are the ETA factory and the Decathlons pavilions as examples of particularly future-oriented energy-saving construction.

project selection

Downtown

State Theater (Rudolf Prange, renovation of Lederer Ragnarsdottir Oei)

Mathildenhoehe

Ernst Ludwig House, Exhibition Hall, Wedding, Haus Glückert (Joseph Maria Olbrich)

Residential house (Peter Behrens)

Faculty of Design Hochschule Darmstadt (Cornelsen & Seelinger)

Paulusviertel

St. Paul's Church (Friedrich Pützer)

TU downtown

University Library (Bär Stadelmann Stöcker Architekten BSS)

Darmstadtium (Talik Chalabi - FS Architects)

Wasserbauhalle (Ernst Neufert, renovation Ramona Buxbaum)

publisher quarter

Hochhaus Hochschule Darmstadt (renovation Staab Architekten)

Media Center Central Library (renovation Ramona Buxbaum)

'Wella Headquarters' (Dierks Blume Nasedy)

Fraunhofer Institute for Secure Information Technology (SEHW)

House of Economy South Hesse (grid square)

TU Lichtwiese

Lecture Hall and Media Center TU Darmstadt (Ferdinand Heide)

ETA factory (FG design and construction Prof Johann Eisele + Dietz Joppien Architekten AG)

M³ - Magnets, Molecules, Materials (mtp architekten gmbH)

Decathlon Pavillions (Department of Design and Energy Efficient Building Prof. Manfred Hegger)

Architekturführung in Darmstadt

Hier und da sind auch Bergsträßer Wein und Sprizz auf den Tischen zu sehen, an sonnigen Tagen scheint Darmstadts Innenstadt eine einzige Kaffeeterrasse zu sein. Dies im Gegensatz zur nüchternen Atmosphäre der 1970ger und 80ger Jahre, die dem nüchternen 50ger Jahre Wiederaufbau Architektur entsprach.

Die Zentren moderner Architektur liegen etwas jenseits der Kaffeeterrasse, mit einer Ausnahme:

Das Staatstheater – Ein Mustergebäude für die Architektur der sechziger Jahre, wurde nun architektonisch aufgewertet, neben anderen Maßnahmen entstand eine vergnügliche Unterwelt. Aus dem Vorplatz, einer ehemaligen Ligusterwüste, wurde ein Chill-Platz.

Mathildenhöhe Paulusviertel Heimatstil

Jugendstil

Mustergebäude des beginnenden 20. Jahrhunderts wurden auf der Mathildenhöhe gebaut. Vom

kunstsinnigen Ernst-Ludwig, großherzoglichem Glücksfall für Hessen-Darmstadt, initiiert, wird die Jugendstilsiedlung nun als erste Deutsche Bauausstellung gesehen.

Ganz anders wollte man im weitläufig geplanten Paulusviertel bauen. Heute relativiert sich der Unterschied etwas. Die Architekten dort folgten dem Heimatstil und orientierten sich an romantischen Bauernhausvorstellungen oder mittelalterlicher Burgenarchitektur. Dieses Gebiet hat weitgehend unzerstört den Weltkrieg überstanden, im Gegensatz zur Mathildenhöhe, wo einige Bomben fielen.

Wer der zerstörten Miethausgruppe nachtrauert, kann sich nun allerdings mit dem gut sanierten Fachbereich Gestaltung der Hochschule Darmstadt trösten

Darmstadt Meisterbauten

Nach den Kriegszerstörungen wollte die Stadt den Faden der Vorbildbauwerke wieder aufnehmen und beauftrage 1951 elf renommierte Architekten mit öffentlichen Bauprojekten. Fünf Projekte wurden ausgeführt: die Frauenklink von Otto Bartning, das Ludwig Georgs Gymnasium von Max Taut, die Georg Büchner Schule von Hans Schwippert, die Kinderwelt von Franz Schuster und das Ledigenwohnheim von Ernst Neufert

TU Innenstadt

Am Ort des ehemaligen großherzoglichen Gemüsegartens entstanden Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts die alten TH Gebäude (1997 in TU umbenannt). Das Ensemble wird heute durch die Hochschulbibliothek und Institutsgebäude ergänzt. Davor ins Kriegswüstengrün gesetzt, entstand als bemerkenswerter städtebaulicher Akzent das Veranstaltungszentrum Darmstadtium.

Verlegerviertel

Ein grüner Gewerbecampus mit einheitlicher Architektur, in Anbetracht von Sondermüllarchitektur in heutigen Gewerbegebieten, hätte das in den fünfziger Jahren entstandene Darmstadt Verlegerviertel gerne Vorbildfunktion einnehmen können. Besiedelt mit Druckbetrieben die aus Ostdeutschland geflohen waren, hat sich dort mittlerweile der Wandel in der Druckindustrie bemerkbar gemacht. Die Betriebe sind verschwunden und die einst als Lückenfüller angesiedelte Staatsbauschule, mittlerweile zur ‚Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences (h_da)‘ oder ‚Hochschule Darmstadt‘ avanciert, hat das Gebiet zu ihrem Campus entwickelt.

TU Campus Lichtwiese

Der Neubaucampus der TU liegt dort am Stadtrand, wo Matthias Claudius ‚Der Mond ist aufgegangen‘ gedichtet haben soll. Die Erstbebauung erfolgte in Beton und Fertigteilen nach Beispiel des Unicampus Marburg. Seit 2000 sind eine Reihe neuer Institutsgebäude entstanden, die oft die horizontale Gliederung der Bestandbebauung aufnehmen, sich aber sonst formal absetzten. Hervorzuheben sind die ETA Fabrik und die Decathlons Pavillions als Beispiele besonders zukunftsweisenden energiesparenden Bauens.

Projektauswahl

Innenstadt

Staatstheater (Rudolf Prange, Renovierung Lederer Ragnarsdottir Oei)

Mathildenhöhe

Ernst-Ludwig-Haus, Ausstellungshalle, Hochzeitstum, Haus Glückert (Joseph Maria Olbrich)

Wohnhaus (Peter Behrens)

Fachbereich Gestaltung Hochschule Darmstadt(Cornelsen & Seelinger)

Paulusviertel

Pauluskirche (Friedrich Pützer)

TU Innenstadt

Universitätsbibliothek (Bär Stadelmann Stöcker Architekten BSS)

Darmstadtium (Talik Chalabi – FS Architekten)

Wasserbauhalle (Ernst Neufert, Renovierung Ramona Buxbaum)

Verlegerviertel

Hochhaus Hochschule Darmstadt (Renovierung Staab Architekten)

Medienzentrum Zentralbibliothek (Renovierung Ramona Buxbaum)

‚Wella Hauptverwaltung‘ (Dierks Blume Nasedy)

Fraunhofer-Institut für Sichere Informationstechnologie ( SEHW )

Haus der Wirtschaft Südhessen (Planquadrat)

TU Lichtwiese

Hörsaal- und Medienzentrum TU Darmstadt (Ferdinand Heide)

ETA Fabrik (FG Entwerfen und Baugestaltung Prof Johann Eisele + Dietz Joppien Architekten AG)

M³ – Magnete, Moleküle, Materialien (mtp architekten gmbH)

Decathlon Pavillions (FB Entwerfen und Energieeffizientes Bauen Prof. Manfred Hegger)